Life Like That

A Brand New Life

Who are The Special One??????

“I am the European champion. I think I am a special one.”


“I’m still the special one, for sure. You want to try and succeed in your job like I have done in mine inside three years? You have no chance.”


“I put myself in the firing line straight away by saying things that some people understand and some don’t,” he added.

“Like, for example, ‘I’m special’, ‘I want to win in the first season’, ‘I don’t care about the power of Manchester United and Arsenal’, and ‘I don’t care that no-one in English football was champion in the first season’.”


“Ricardo Carvalho seems to have problems understanding things, maybe he should have an IQ test. I am not happy to have heard about this through the papers. Ricardo has worked with me for four years and I do not understand these quotes, he probably needs to see a doctor.”


“We have top players here and, I’m sorry if it seems a bit arrogant, but we have a top manager.”


“We are on top at the moment but not because of the club’s financial power. We are in contention for a lot of trophies because of my hard work.”


“The biggest ambition I have is to win the first Premiership match on 14 August. The second ambition is to win the second Premiership match on 21 August and we will keep going like this.”


“If I wanted to have an easy job… I would have stayed at Porto – beautiful blue chair, the Uefa Champions League trophy, God, and after God, me.”


“I can say to him in the next 10 years we will compare trophies at Chelsea and at Liverpool. And he will lose.” [On Steven Gerrard]


“Since 1996 Cruyff has been playing golf and criticising. Since 1996 he manipulated and used the power that was given to him for being a fantastic footballer. He cannot teach me to win Cups and Super Cups because I’ve already won them. He cannot teach me to win the Uefa Cup because I also have it. He cannot teach me to be European champion because I was it already. And I don’t want him to teach me how to take a 4-0 defeat in a Champions League final because I don’t want to learn that. Let him come to English football where he can learn that he is in the 21st century.”


“Everybody was waiting for Chelsea not to win every game and one day when we lose there will be a holiday in the country. But we are ready for that.”


“I’m arrogant because it is necessary to be that way in the world of football.”


“They say I don’t have freedom of speech on my team… they do. If you speak up you have freedom from playing on my team.”


“The first goal was ridiculous, the second stupid, the third inconsequential.” [On Chelsea’s 3-0 loss to Middlesbrough]


“Only stupid people can think a team like Chelsea, with our quality of players, can be happy to have this pitch. Barcelona can think what they want. Do we have no technical players? No skilful players? Just players who kick the ball and run. Arjen Robben, Damien Duff, Shaun Wright-Phillips, Frank Lampard. We have no technical players so we need a potato field, so we play in a potato field! Maybe you should ask Barcelona why they have so many injuries. They have a lot of knee problems. Maybe their pitch is too good.” [On reports that Barca’s players think Chelsea’s pitch is deliberately rough]


“Envy is the gun of the incompetent.”


“The situation is he has two more years of contract with Chelsea. He is one of the players we consider non-negotiable so he has no chance to leave. He has to play for Chelsea. If he plays with happiness, fantastic – we get the best of him. If he doesn’t play with happiness, he doesn’t play – so it’s his problem.” [On reports that Didier Drogba wants to leave the club]


“A lot of teams would like to have Drogba, and they can’t have him.”


“You look at my haircut and you can see that. I’m ready for the war.”


“I don’t like being the villain, but the good ones are normally losers. I don’t care too much about image. I don’t think it’s possible to be loved by everyone. Not in life – and especially not in football.”


“I know my face is not always a very nice face. I am aggressive and so on – but do not make always me the bad boy.”


“In football it is very difficult for the big people to lose matches but it is also very difficult for small people to win big matches. When you win and you are not used to winning big matches, you have also to behave. Schwarzer is a very good keeper and because of that I don’t believe he has vision problems. I don’t believe because he is a good keeper that he didn’t see Chelsea players exchanging shirts with Middlesbrough players. I don’t believe he didn’t see the Chelsea manager waiting for Middlesbrough players at the end of the game to congratulate them. I don’t understand what he is saying. It is better to enjoy the moment he beat Chelsea and don’t say stupid things, because he won a good game.”


“Something is happening with the English press in relation to Frank Lampard. I spoke to him about it – and for me, he is guilty. He is guilty because you never had a player like him in the last 10 years – and because you never had a player like him in 10 years, you are having a go at him. He is guilty because he scores so many goals, because he plays so many matches, because he plays game after game for Chelsea and England with 100% effort. He is guilty because he beats an unbelievable record of consecutive matches. He is guilty because he is such a good player – but you should respect him a little bit more.”


“Call me vain but I produce because there are titles and in conjunction with them merchandising in an incomparably superior proportion to what existed before I came here.”


“Places like this are the soul of English football. The crowd is magnificent, saying ‘Fuck off Mourinho’ and so on.”


“Considering the problems Chelsea have had, Manchester United should be 10, 12, 14 points clear of us. I am happy to be six points behind. In my opinion, Manchester United did not take advantage of our bad moments. Six points is nothing. In previous seasons, we have gone 11, 12 points clear and killed things off by Christmas. They didn’t take their opportunity on Monday when they drew at Newcastle. Manchester United have dropped five points at West Ham and Newcastle recently and the gap could have been bigger.”


“Sometimes you kiss and sometimes you kick. In this case I ignored. What I do with him is what I do with every player. It doesn’t matter if he cost £30m, another £30,000. The players have to work and perform. If they work and perform I love them. If they don’t work and perform I hate them.”


“One is a coach with a 30-year career, the other with a three-year one. The one with 30 years has never won anything; the one with three years has won a lot. The one who has coached for 30 years has an enormous career; the one with three years has a small career. The one with a 30-year career will be forgotten when he ends it; the one with three could end it right now and he could never be erased from history. This could be the story of a donkey who worked for 30 years but never became a horse.” [On Porto manager Jesualdo Ferreira (30 years)]


“United are very lucky they don’t have to play here next week. Can you imagine them here next weekend? That’s the game where they will slip up, against us, so they’re very lucky.”


“People ask Chelsea, ‘Last season you won two trophies, why did you not win four?’ But not many journalists ask Liverpool boss Rafael Benitez and Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger, ‘Why zero?’ And not many people ask Manchester United, ‘Why only the Premiership?'”


“Young players are a little bit like melons – only when you open them up and taste the melon are you 100 per cent that it is good. Sometimes you have beautiful melons but they don’t taste very good; other melons are a bit ugly and when you open them the taste is fantastic. The way Scott Sinclair played against Arsenal and the Rowdies – we know the melon we have.”


“Sometimes you see beautiful people with no brains. Sometimes you have ugly people who are intelligent, like scientists. Our pitch is a bit like that. From the top it’s a disgrace but the ball rolls at normal speed.”


“It all depends on my wife. If I am at home, yes, I will see it. But maybe my wife would like to go somewhere. I would like to see it – I like to see football and it is a big game. But maybe I will have no permission.” [Waiting to hear whether he’d be allowed to watch Arsenal vs. Man Utd.]


“If I play them in the Champions League, I want to go there and kill them – that’s my message.” [On playing against Chelsea as manager of another team]


“For me this is a very important challenge but I believe that it could be very enjoyable also for you [the media].”


“My name is Luiz Felipe Scolari, not Jose Mourinho. I have my own personality and I follow my own way, not anyone else’s way. I don’t know whether Mourinho said he’d win this or that, or whether he was told what he must achieve, but if he did I will say things differently. I tell my players what any coach would tell their players in the world: that we need to win. Look, my way at Chelsea is the same as it has been all my life, or has been in any of the clubs I have managed or the national teams I have coached. All we want is to be doing one thing: winning. At Chelsea, this is the same. This is my way and I follow this way. My way. Only this.”

August 30, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Hahaha. Last quote tu bukan dari mourinho, tu dari scolari.

    Ko tertinggal satu quote yang agak lawak gak la (bagi aku):

    Pressure? Pressure what? (Of having lost two games) Pressure is, uh, millions of people in, in the world, parents, no money to, to buy foods for their children, that’s pressure. Not in football.

    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=ijY3aw_Yj_A

    Comment by Ayoep | October 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

